Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Flubbed his dub (an ubdate)

I was at a bookstore yesterday, and came across an American slang dictionary. “Flub the dub” was included, meaning to make a mistake. Google gives more results, including translations of American slang into Korean and Russian.

Via Yahoo Search: Flub-a-dub was a cast member on Howdy Doody. Flubadubya is a screen name on the Democratic Underground. And, finally, it even shows up in the Bible.

One response to “Flubbed his dub (an ubdate)

  1. ---dean September 25, 2004 at 10:48 pm

    One wonders what nuggets you will find when the Cotton-Patch Gospel is updated, as in:

    Rev. Mayler says he got the idea for a hip-hop Bible
    after hearing his 4-year-old granddaughter reciting
    the “sing-songy” bedtime prayer, “Now I lay me down
    to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep . . .”

    “While she was singing I noticed her brother, who’s
    22, was snapping his fingers, bobbing his head and
    tapping his feet,” explains the preacher.

    “The Lord spoke to me in that moment. He said, ‘Rev.
    Mayler, I want you to record a hip-hop version of
    the Holy Bible, and I hope you can get a big star
    like Snoop Dogg to do it. Or the white one, Eminem —
    he’d be good, too.’

    “Dub-flubbin'” be flippin’ sweet by comparison.

