Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Trump University

So Donald Trump has started himself a university, and Roger Schank, who headed the Institute for the Learning Sciences when I was a grad student at Northwestern, is the Chief Learning Officer.

Roger writes an “occasional column” called “Educational Outrage. He talks about the press reaction to some comments he made about the pedagogy to be used at Trump University in Is Trump Academic?

One reaction from another grad (who will remain nameless):

I just took my degree from Northwestern out, and watched it for about a minute. I was sort of expecting it to fade into thin air, like in one of those movies about time travel…

3 responses to “Trump University

  1. roger schank June 3, 2005 at 9:24 am

    aren’t you ashamed to print something like that (despite attributing it to an unamed friend?) I always you were a reasonable and honorable man who thought before he criticized; guess not

  2. Will June 3, 2005 at 10:16 am

    Hi Roger,

    In fact, you’ll note that I posted a link to your column before the quote from ‘another grad,’ and in neither case did I say that either agreed or disagreed with the ideas expressed.

    Will

  3. Tim Converse June 19, 2005 at 8:19 pm

    Here’s a rebuttal to Schank’s “why learn the quadratic formula” schtick, which I wrote several years ago: http://troutworks.com/Timlog/timlog.php?y=2001&m=2&d=12

