Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Edmund Clowney

When I was a student at Michigan State University, I was involved in Inter-Varsity Christian Fellowship. I went to IV programs at Cedar Campus in northern Michigan several times, once for an entire month for a summer leadership training program, at which both John R. Stott and Edmund Clowney were speakers. Dr. Stott was first–droll, academic, serious teaching from Paul’s letter to the Ephesians. Then Dr. Clowney spoke–on the Sovereignty of God. In the popular conception, nothing could be more off-putting. But Dr. Clowney’s evident joy–like Moses’s shining face–in the presence of the God he loved is something I still remember after 30 years. It was a privilege to spend time under his teaching.

Edmund P. Clowney died on March 20–I’ve just read of his death. The above is what I posted at his memorial website, edmondclowney.com.

Comments are closed.

