Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Potter covers

Daughter Jand and I have have finished the new Harry Potter book. I think it’s better written than the last book–tauter, more showing, less telling. Jane thought Rowling made several mistakes, including killing off a major character. It does get fairly dark near the end, as others have noted. This will be a harder book to film, I think. Rowling has a lot to do in the last book to bring out a reasonably happy ending.

US:
Canadian/UK:
UK ‘Adult edition’:

All images from various Amazon.com websites. Apparently, the German and French editions are not due until Ocotober or so.

4 responses to “Potter covers

  1. Daniel Lemire July 20, 2005 at 8:18 am

    Also the Canadian edition is on 100% recycled paper unlike the American edition.

  2. Will July 20, 2005 at 8:57 am

    Yes, and, if I do my conversions correctly, the list price of the Canadian book is about 10% more expensive. (CDN$41 vs. US$30).

  3. Will July 20, 2005 at 9:09 pm

    And Amazon.com has it for US$17.00:

    CND$25 ~= US$20.50; now we’re talkin’ a 20% difference. (I don’t think you’re going to win on price, Daniel).

