Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Singing in California

My work brings me to California once a month or so, and, if I can, I sing with the one of the Bay area Sacred Harp groups, usually the Berkeley group, which meets every Monday night. The biggest problem is the longish drive in heavy traffic up to Berkeley on top of a day that starts at 5 am Michigan time. I arrived quite tired, and made many silly mistakes–flubbing even New Britian (Amazing Grace) and calling “Southwell” “Southfield”–a Michigan city, as Mark pointed out. (I had visions of someone putting Eminem’s 8 Mile to a Sacred Harp tune; perhaps on the way to creating a musical genre–call it Sacreton). Still, it was great to sing–Natalia thought the group singing was ‘lovely’ so it wasn’t a complete loss.

Comments are closed.

