Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Funny, or horrifying, or both

My Outsourced Life.

2 responses to “Funny, or horrifying, or both

  1. Michael Hannemann October 13, 2005 at 2:07 pm

    I’m not surprised that’s A. J. Jacobs. I read his book, _The Know-It-All_, this summer; I was intrigued by his quest to read all of the Encyclopedia Brittanica from beginning to end. It’s a notion that’d occurred to me, and now that I’ve read his take on it, I’m glad to have saved both the year and the social embarrassment of trying to inject factoids from the project consuming my life into every conversation.

    I do recommend the book; Jacobs comes across as a dork, but a personable dork, and at the end of the story, all the threads of the human story were wrapped up in an appropriate manner. It was fun to read, and I am glad he saved me the horror of reading the encyclopedia myself.

  2. Daniel Lemire October 14, 2005 at 10:21 am

    Interesting story.

    I don’t see outsourcing like such a huge threat though. We always had social classes. There are many people who could teach the courses I teach, and many people do teach comparable courses, without a professorship… but they make significantly less money doing so and they will keep making less money than I do as long as they teach in universities without a professorship. Are professors threatened by these armies of underpaid lecturers? I’d like for them to be a threat, but I don’t see it. There are walls in place preventing people from being a threat.

