Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Gateway drug?

It’s hard to believe I’ve never tried it before, but I finally did today, and I liked it. Maybe I’ll do it every Monday, then maybe I’ll try it on Tuesdays, and Wednesdays, and work up to the hard stuff on Sundays. It was fun, my wife turned me on to it. What I tried was pretty tame by her standards–she does the really hard stuff, stuff that takes over her brain sometimes for days at a time before it’s done and she can return to normal life.

Hah. Compared to her Atlantic Puzzler, the first New York Times Crossword that I’ve ever tried to complete on my own was nothing.

One response to “Gateway drug?

  1. Michael Hannemann December 6, 2005 at 12:41 am

    I tried Sudoku for the first time over Thanksgiving. It’s unlike a crossword, because there’s no environmental knowledge, it’s all just puzzle logic. Interesting. Not sure about getting the big books of puzzles like everyone else I bump into seem to be doing, though.

