Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Harper Lee, Gregarious for a Day

Harper Lee, Gregarious for a Day (New York Times, requires registration). Nice to see a recent picture of her, and that a biography is due soon.

With more than 10,000,000 copies sold since it first appeared in 1960, “To Kill a Mockingbird” exists as one of the best-selling novels of all time. For decades, Ms. Lee has remained fiercely mindful of her privacy, politely but resolutely refusing to talk to the press and making only rare public appearances, in which she always declines to speak. She has maintained her resolve despite renewed attention in the wake of the film “Capote,” in which Ms. Lee is portrayed as the moral conscience of her childhood friend Truman Capote; the coming “Infamous,” another Capote movie in which Sandra Bullock plays Ms. Lee; and a biography of Ms. Lee scheduled for May.

2 responses to “Harper Lee, Gregarious for a Day

  1. Linda February 6, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    Very cool. I didn’t know she was still alive!

  2. Betsy M. Taylor March 16, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    I caught the movie “To Kill a Mockingbird” on AMC a few months ago. I was absolutely captivated to the point where I stayed up entirely later than I should have on a work night!!! With my anal-retentive punctuality policy at my job, I was lucky to get to work on time the next day! Anyway…I raved so much about the movie the next day at work that a co-worker of mine loaned me her daughter’s copy of the book. I was even more captivated by the book–my one criticism of the movie was that they didn’t have “Aunt Alexandra” in the movie…I had to laugh about how much of a priss Aunt Alexandra was in the book and then thank the Lord that my mom and dad raised me instead of an aunt of mine.

