Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Geek accolade scale

Really, this seems sensible.

2 responses to “Geek accolade scale

  1. Michael Hannemann February 17, 2006 at 12:47 am

    Totally.

    Was it at Neodesic that we had to explain to someone new that that saying something like that, or or taking an idea apart and adding to it, was high praise?

  2. Michael Hannemann February 17, 2006 at 10:23 pm

    I remember now. It was Neodesic, and it was telling someone new that if the person you’re talking to starts saying “yeahyeahyeah, ….”, that’s not dismissive, it’s saying, “yup, cool, I had that thought myself, or I see where you’re going with it, and that’s good.”

    Growing up, “not bad” was always a high compliment. I do think it’s geekish culture as well.

