Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Sherbat

Bess and I played Scrabble (er, make that Scrabble ™ brand crossword game) tonight, but we didn’t have a dictionary so we had to use our ‘internal’ ones. I passed on a bingo, because I wasn’t quite sure whether ‘li’ was a word (I thought it was, but wasn’t confident enough to force the issue). It is a word, and I even remembered the meaning correctly: a Chinese unit of distance. ‘Ka’ was another word–I wouldn’t have played it, but Bess said to go ahead (it was my last letter). It, too, is a word–an ancient Eqyptian religious term.

But what gets me is that the official Scrabble dictionary (at least, their online version) does not have ‘sorbetto’ as a word. ‘Sorbet’ is fine; so is ‘sherbet,’ of course. It was my first play, and I got a bingo on it; Bess challenged it, but I stood my ground. If we’d had the dictionary, I would have lost the turn. But really, if ‘sorbet’ is an acceptable word, shouldn’t ‘sorbetto’ be as well?

(According to Wikipedia, all these words come from–wait for it–the Turkish word sherbat.

‘Sherbat,’ of course, isn’t in the Official Scrabble Players Dictionary, either.

4 responses to “Sherbat

  1. Michael Hannemann March 2, 2006 at 12:57 am

    What’s a bingo?

    feeling ignorant all of a sudden,

    Michael
    (who knew “li” and “ka”.)

  2. Will March 2, 2006 at 2:15 am

    It’s when you play all of your seven letters (and get the 50 point bonus).

  3. ---dean March 3, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    Refer to the Delton / Hickory Corners version of the Scrabble dictionary, it’s clearly “sher-beRt”.

  4. Pingback: Will.Whim » Blog Archive » Family story

