Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

bureaucracy

Even though I work at a large government agency, my work life is remarkably free of bureaucracy. Even once in a while, though, bureaucracy brings a smile. I just had an expense report sent back to me because the mileage reimbursement amount on my form was incorrect; it was temporarily raised in the months following Katrina, apparently, but it’s gone back to the old amount.

However, I didn’t claim any mileage reimbursement; but pointing out that:

0 · 0.485 = 0 · 0.455

just doesn’t seem like it’s going to work. I know it didn’t work when I submitted my first expense report following the increase.

One of my life’s goals is to be able to spell “bureaucracy” correctly on the first go.

Comments are closed.

