Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

I don't want to get adjusted

Iris DeMent: (via long sought home with mp3).

And I don’t want to get adjusted to this world, to this world
I’ve got a home so much better
And I’m gonna go there sooner or later
And I don’t want to get adjusted to this world, to this world

4 responses to “I don't want to get adjusted

  1. Mark Fitzgerald March 21, 2006 at 1:55 am

    The above mention in the context of San Francisco versus Kalamazoo is obvious. If you’re talking about mortality, that’s a bit eerie and ignorant, no?

  2. Will March 21, 2006 at 4:00 am

    Well, I was thinking more like “Be not conformed to the world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind.” There are many things I don’t want to “get adjusted to” — do you remember Virgil Vogt talking about “militarism, materialism, and me-ism?” And, though I can’t help but benefit from it, I don’t want to simply accept the advantages I have of simply by virtue of being born a white male American.

    Plus, I love Iris DeMent’s voice.

  3. Natalia March 22, 2006 at 11:13 am

    Here I was thinking it was a baby robot complaining throwing a tantrum about having to go for its annual check-up…

  4. ---dean March 24, 2006 at 2:42 pm

    Perhaps you’d also enjoy her husband’s very different style as well – very different, but equally genuine. You’re welcome to borrow any of my Greg Brown CDs.

