Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Changes

Tomorrow I leave for California–here’s the plan: I have one more week to work at NASA, and then, on May 1, I start at Powerset, a new search company. Exciting, and a bit scary: the plan is for me to be in California (say) three weeks per month and (say) one week in Michigan. Bess is on board with this, but we’re all a bit daunted at being apart so much.

I am looking forward to the joys of being in the San Francisco area: this weekend is the Second Annual Golden Gate Sacred Harp Singing, and my friend Khalil Dalal has invited me to go see Omar Sosa at Yoshi’s.

But still:

Yes, my native land, I love thee,
All thy scenes I love them well,
Friends, connections, happy country,
Can I bid you all farewell?

Can I leave you,
Far in distant lands to dwell?

Home, thy joys are passing lovely,
Joys no stranger heart can tell;
Happy home indeed I love thee;
Can I, can I, say “Farewell?”

6 responses to “Changes

  1. Michael Hannemann April 20, 2006 at 10:39 pm

    Good luck, good luck! I definitely want updates on how it’s going over there. And when you’re looking to expand to distance telecommuters. ;-)

    Renting at first, I assume?

  2. Daniel Lemire April 21, 2006 at 10:25 am

    You have an exciting life!

  3. Erica Fitzgerald April 21, 2006 at 10:30 pm

    We wish you, Aunt Bess, Mark and Jane all the best! May you all have a smooth transition. I doubt you will have any time to visit Ann Arbor with such a busy schedule. We are looking forward to an update about how everyone is doing . . .

  4. Mark Fitzgerald April 22, 2006 at 11:57 am

    Is Barney Pell one of the guys on the powerset team?

  5. Will April 23, 2006 at 10:08 am

    To Mark: Yes, Barney Pell is the CEO of Powerset.

  6. Natalia April 25, 2006 at 12:13 pm

    All Bay Area residents: “Muahahaha! Our evil plan is coming to pass!”

