Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

The Barn at the End of the World

Book cover I’ve been quite enjoying reading The Barn at the End of the World, by Mary Rose O’Reilley, published by Milkweed Press. It reminds me a lot of the writing of Annie Dillard (who has her own website: ‘The Secrets of the Universe as Decoded by the Unhinged’): essays about mindfulness at the interface between the natural and artificial worlds, as well at the interface of the social and solitary life. O’Reilly has a kind of spiritual eclecticism (not only is she a Quaker Buddhist shepherd, but a former Catholic novitiate) that I find both appealing and a bit scandalous–why is this Quaker/Catholic bowing before a buddha? But it’s a question she asks herself–one thing I find appealing about her is how she approaches spiritual practices with an open but doubtful mind. Also, there’s a lot about sheep-raising; I don’t think I’ll be raising sheep anytime soon, any more than I’d want to raise chickens.
Thanks to Linda for lending me the book.

2 responses to “The Barn at the End of the World

  1. Peter Treiber August 7, 2006 at 9:59 pm

    Wow! Annie Dillard’s website is stunningly boring!
    I geared myself up to read a riveting blog wherein
    the creatures in Annie’s back yard daily reveal the very
    secrets of human existence, but…

  2. ---dean August 8, 2006 at 7:55 pm

    Nice lead – thanks – are eagerly awaiting arrival of our order and will continue to sift through this new (to us) publisher’s offerings. Martha especially likes the notion of flippin’ a sheep.

