Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Leopard announcements

Apple has posted some details of the upcoming version of the Apple OS. Two little things of note that will make me want to buy it: A new speech synthesis voice, Alex, that sounds quite good. And boolean operators in Spotlight, the full-text searching tool; plus search on file attributes. The later should have already been in Spotlight, in my humble opinion, but that’s one way Apple keeps getting my money…

3 responses to “Leopard announcements

  1. John Wiseman August 8, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    It’s not always as convenient, but in case you didn’t know, the command-line interface to Spotlight, mdfind, knows some additional boolean syntax[1].

    [1] http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/mac/2006/01/04/mdfind.html

  2. Will August 8, 2006 at 6:03 pm

    Oh! Cool:

    ~: mdfind “firby fitzgerald hannemann wiseman ” | grep phone-list
    /Users/will/Documents/archive/neoodesic labs htdocs/will/phone-list.txt

  3. Michael Hannemann August 9, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    I want to work in a Time Machine joke about being able to update that list to have the current phone numbers…

    I’ll definitely get the next OS X, of course. For me, the question is if I do it by trading in my Dell laptop (1.86 GHz centrino, single core, 2 GB ram) for an intel powerbook of some sort.

