Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

The Parting Hand

Here’s something very Sacred Harp: The Parting Hand, a site to record songs you’d like sung and other remembrances made at your own funeral. It’s a quick site Annie Grieshop and I put together over the past few days in our spare time.

The Parting Hand” is the tune most frequently sung at the end of a Sacred Harp convention.

My Christian friends, in bonds of love,
Whose hearts in sweetest union join,
Your friendship’s like a drawing band,
Yet we must take the parting hand.
Your company’s sweet, your union dear,
Your words delightful to my ear;
Yet when I see that we must part
You draw like chords around my heart.

(One of the interesting things about Sacred Harp singing is how these words resonate even with non- or ex-Christian singers).

2 responses to “The Parting Hand

  1. Linda September 2, 2006 at 12:24 pm

    My favorite “technologist to the stars” does it again. Bravo!

  2. steve fitzgerald September 6, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    Will,
    Take a listen to WNYC

    I caught the tailend of an interview given by Leanard Lopate.
    He was interviewing a musical group called “Anonymous four”. Maybe you have heard of them. Here is the link http://www.wnyc.org/shows/lopate/episodes/2006/09/05

