Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

The Powerset Blogstorm

We way cool. We
loved school. We

Work late. We
Code straight. We

Plugged in. We
Bloggin. We

Balloon. We
Show soon.

(with apologies to G. Brooks).

5 responses to “The Powerset Blogstorm

  1. Linda October 13, 2006 at 10:18 pm

    This butchery, er parody, of Brooks must increase you to at least 60% white and nerdy now, don’t you think?

  2. Mark Fitzgerald October 17, 2006 at 10:10 am

    Wow, I have to say I’m impressed. Abbey came in and laughed pretty hard, but says her Mother’s morning workout routine to Jay-Z is much cooler (uh huh?). I was a bouncer at club X-cel the other night…the Fitzgerald’s are getting so cool I’m anticipating the next ice age.

  3. Natalia October 17, 2006 at 1:30 pm

    Appropriating black literature definitely ups the white score…

    (I’m not griping, Will, just pointing out. I like you, and you’re not at fault for being white and nerdy.)

  4. Mark Nielsen November 15, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    Hee hee.

    I always loved Gwendolyn’s original. Love this, too. (‘nother white nerd here…)
    BTW, I’m teaching fine arts (drama, poetry, design/visual arts, etc.) to Kindergarten thru 8th grade, mostly minorities, at Chicago Mennonite Learning Center this year.

    Permission to rip off (er… appropriate?) your poem as an example, for a later unit on poetry and/or parodies, that I might do with the junior high kids?

    [Mark F’s comment above is pretty hilarious, too. Tell him I said hi…]

  5. Mark Nielsen November 15, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    Always loved that original GBrooks poem. Love yours, too. (I’m another white nerd… aspiring to something other…)

    Can I use your poem as an example for some classes I’m teaching in the arts at Chicago Mennonite Learning Center? I’m hoping to do an Af-Am poetry unit with some Junior high kids (mostly black and Latino).

    Mark’s comment above is very funny, too. Say hi for me…

Leave a Reply

