Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Why sing Sacred Harp? redux

Maggie Leonard, responding to Linda’s statement about singing Sacred Harp that I quoted recently:

That says it all. I’m not a doctrinal Christian. I tried for years to accept the doctrinal view of Jesus, but couldn’t when I searched my soul. However, this music rises beyond doctrine and summons the spirit that moved among the apostles after Jesus’ passing. That spirit moves through us like water when we sing, cleansing and purifying. It’s like getting baptized over and again with sound. . . . It’s like we’re all stepping together into an inexhaustible font of joy, and the only way to get there is together. I know that’s what Jesus intended. I’m so grateful I’ve found it! I’ve told both my sisters that I’m going to do everything in my power to get their babies into the tradition when they’re young.

People find this to be powerful stuff.

One response to “Why sing Sacred Harp? redux

  1. Clarissa March 26, 2012 at 5:28 am

    “It’s like we’re all stepping together into an inexhaustible font of joy, and the only way to get there is together.”

Leave a Reply

