Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Actually, a little more robot overlordship than I'm currently experiencing would be nice

Sitting down to dinner, I said something like today I wrote a program that wrote a program, and its running righ now. Daughter and wife looked slightly alarmed, and dear wife asked if there were any chance that I was working myself out of a job. I said I didn’t think there was much chance that the coming robot wars were about to begin. Getting back to my computer later, I saw this on the console:


~/Work/ps_wordnet/src $ ./convert_wn_file.py -V3.0 -l/tmp ../data/wnprolog/3-0/*.pl > convert.py ; python convert.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "convert.py", line 368926, in ?
wn._s_store(100001740,1,'entity',n,1,11)
NameError: name 'n' is not defined

Yep, not much chance at all.

2 responses to “Actually, a little more robot overlordship than I'm currently experiencing would be nice

  1. Mark Nielsen May 20, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    You once told me that even a pencil can be considered technology, depending upon how you define the word, and that therefore to broadly demonize technology would be a mistake. I never forgot that point, succinctly put as it was.

    Nevertheless, the robots ARE coming to get you.

    BTW, can you adjust your blogroll so it links now to the WordPress version of Marking Time (instead of the annoying MySpace version)? A small thing, but unless you’ve got a program that will do it for you…

  2. brendan o'connor May 21, 2007 at 3:35 am

    sometimes i suspect that a NameError is the only allowable outcome after your python program has been running for a zilllion hours and is almost done.

Leave a Reply

