Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Happy 77th Birthday, Dad

It was my father’s birthday today, and we visited him at the nursing home this evening. We called several of my brothers and even got through to them. Steve complained that I haven’t been writing much in my weblog–guilty as charged, but more than you write in yours, Steve!

Dad has swallowing problems, so we couldn’t bring him cake, but he’s recently been able to eat toast, so we brought our toaster and home made flax bread. Dad loves his toast, so this we a good present. Unfortunately, he did have trouble swallowing it, and he coughed a lot.

Well, I love my toast, too, and I decided today that that’s how I want to go, so I give you my obituary template:

William Fitzgerald, age XX of Kalamazoo, Michigan, passed away yesterday after a long and valiant battle with toast.

2 responses to “Happy 77th Birthday, Dad

  1. Tim Converse February 28, 2008 at 2:09 am

    Heh. If it were my obituary, I’d want to highlight my cumulative win/loss record with toast, rather than just talking about the final loss. But I’m competitive like that.

  2. Inder March 17, 2008 at 2:48 am

    I wonder if we could work “toast” into “Restoration” 312b.

Leave a Reply

