Will.Whim

A weblog by Will Fitzgerald

Delays

I’m sitting in the airport at O’Hare after the longest plane taxi ride I can remember. It doesn’t really matter how long it took since the flight left late, arrived late, and I have even longer to wait to get on a flight to Seattle. I was supposed to be in Seattle this morning, but a mix-up on tickets (that was my own fault) meant I couldn’t leave until this evening. If things go very well, I’ll get to sleep by midnight Pacific time. Plus someone called me on the phone today to ask a favor and started yelling when I didn’t say yes.

This is as bad as my life gets.

Meanwhile, in Mumbai …
Meanwhile, in the Congo …
Meanwhile, in Sudan …
Meanwhile, in Detroit …

I don’t want to sound maudlin, but I feel like I have to record this to get out of my snit. Maybe I’ll be able to sleep on the plane, and maybe I’ll feel great tomorrow.

3 responses to “Delays

  1. Daniel Lemire December 2, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Well. Wouldn’t you agree that if it is the worst possible day of your life, you have it pretty good? I mean… I could think of worse things….

    Not to minimize your troubles, of course… but to say “This is as bad as my life gets” is maybe a tad optimistic or pessimistic.

    This being said, I avoid air planes. I also avoid the phone (try calling me!).

  2. Michael H. December 3, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    @Daniel: I think that “this is as bad as my life gets” is a way of saying thanks for all the things that are going well and shouldn’t be taken for granted. At least, that was my take. I may be projecting here. =)

    Will, I hope that the trip was otherwise fine, sleep was had, and that your day bore no resemblance to that Nutrigrain commercial!

  3. Joy Jones February 9, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Hi Will,
    I would love to pick your brain regarding some decisions I’m trying to make about my website. Would you be willing?
    Please give my greetings to Bess.
    Joy

Leave a Reply

